This May Interest You: My Horror Movie Collection

What better time of the year to celebrate spine-tingling scares and hair-raising horror movies than Halloween (or, if you want to get technical, Halloween Eve)?

I wasn’t always a horror fan. Growing up, I literally had to hide while watching Gremlins and The Others. By the time I was 12 I decided something needed to be done. I was tired of people thinking I couldn’t handle what they could. I began to rent and buy every classic horror movie I could get my hands on. I watched the behind-the-scenes documentaries and studied the special effects. Researched the actors. Listened to the commentaries. The exposure therapy worked and I became inured to the (relatively) formulaic genre. Rooted for the girls and guys who fought back (when I wasn’t rooting for Freddy Krueger so I could get some more bad puns, that is).  Wrote fan fiction about the killers. And enjoyed myself. I found out I liked being scared in controlled circumstances. I liked finding out killers’ backstories. I liked horror movies.

As a teen I even covered my bedroom walls with lists of horror movies and checked them off as soon as I’d seen them.

Now that I’m in my mid-twenties I’m a fan of the old favorites but not particularly anything super recent. I prefer a little story with my scares so the slashers nowadays no longer do it for me. I still love the occasional outing to a (FAKE) haunted house and a Stephen King book or two…or a hundred.

Now, for my collection (and please, let me know some of your favorites!):

Frankenstein (1931), Bride of Frankenstein, Son of Frankenstein, Ghost of Frankenstein, House of Frankenstein

The Wolf Man (1941)

Psycho (1960), Psycho II, Psycho III, Psycho IV: The Beginning

Tales from the Crypt (1972)

Vault of Horror (which is terrible but came in a two-disc set with my Tales from the Crypt)

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (1974), The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2, The Texas Chainsaw Massacre (remake)

Jaws

The Omen (1975), Omen III: The Final Conflict (aaand then they had Part IV, which wasn’t very good)

Carrie (1976)

Halloween (1978), Halloween 4: The Return of Michael Myers, Halloween 5: The Revenge of Michael Myers, Halloween: Resurrection (I have to re-buy 2, 6, and 7 — I got rid of them because I never watched them but now I miss them, lol)

The Shining

Friday the 13th Part VI: Jason Lives, Friday the 13th Part VII: The New Blood, Friday the 13th Part VIII: Jason Takes Manhattan, Jason Goes to Hell: The Final Friday (yeah, okay), Jason X

A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984), A Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddy’s Revenge, A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors, A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream Master, A Nightmare on Elm Street 5: The Dream Child, Freddy’s Dead: The Final Nightmare (again, yeah right), Wes Craven’s New Nightmare

Freddy vs. Jason

Child’s Play, Child’s Play 3 (don’t ask me why I don’t have 2), Bride of Chucky, Seed of Chucky, Curse of Chucky

Pumpkinhead II: Blood Wings

Misery

The Silence of the Lambs, Red Dragon, Hannibal Rising

Leprechaun 3, Leprechaun: Back 2 tha Hood (don’t judge me, lol)

Tales from the Crypt Presents: Demon Knight

Wishmaster, Wishmaster 2: Evil Never Dies

The Sixth Sense

The Blair Witch Project

Hollow Man

American Psycho

Scary Movie, Scary Movie 2, Scary Movie 3, Scary Movie 4

Thir13en Ghosts

Jeepers Creepers, Jeepers Creepers 2

Willard (2003)

Gothika

AVP: Alien vs. Predator

Shaun of the Dead

Secret Window

Saw, Saw II, Saw III, Saw IV, Saw V, Saw VI, Saw: The Final Chapter (again, I hear they’re making Part VIII)

Hide and Seek

The Exorcism of Emily Rose

War of the Worlds (2005)

1408

The Mist

Quarantine

Zombieland

Paranormal Activity

The Human Centipede: First Sequence, The Human Centipede 3: Final Sequence (it’s so offensive it can’t be taken seriously)

-BP

Leave a Reply

