Millennial Nostalgia: Things We Grew Up with that Are 10 Years Old This Year

Yes, I realize I missed posting last month, and I’m going to make up for it with this post by addressing the topic I missed.

To ignite a little nostalgia—and also to make you feel really old so I’m not alone in the feeling—here is a list of things that debuted or rose to popularity 10 years ago, in the year 2007.

Songs

  • “Umbrella” by Rihanna feat. Jay-Z
  • “Low” by Flo Rida
  • “Before He Cheats” by Carrie Underwood
  • “Lip Gloss” by Lil’ Mama
  • “Hey There Delilah” by Plain White Ts
  • “Irreplaceable” by Beyoncé
  • “Makes Me Wonder” by Maroon 5
  • “Crank That (Soulja Boy)” by Soulja Boy (remember that stupid dance? I do)
  • “Cupid’s Chokehold” by Gym Class Heroes
  • “Bleeding Love” by Leona Lewis
  • “This Is Why I’m Hot” by MIMS
  • “Beautiful Girls” by Sean Kingston (where did he go, by the way?)
  • “Bubbly” by Colbie Caillat
  • “Lips of an Angel” by Hinder
  • “SexyBack” by Justin Timberlake
  • “Teardrops on My Guitar” by Taylor Swift (I remember this as her first big hit)
  • “It’s Not Over” by Daughtry (still can’t believe he was voted off that season of American Idol)
  • “Big Girls Don’t Cry” by Fergie
  • “Like a Boy” by Ciara
  • “It Ends Tonight” by The All-American Rejects
  • “Apologize” by Timbaland feat. OneRepublic
  • “Rehab” by Amy Winehouse
  • “Walk Away (Remember Me)” by Paula DeAnda (I miss her! Haven’t seen her since she was eliminated on season 6 of The Voice…)

I was still listening to these songs on a CD player back when the volumes of Now That’s What I Call Music CDs were still in the 20s!

Books

  • Harry Potter and The Deathly Hallows by J.K. Rowling (we all had a copy reserved, did we not? I KNOW I DID)
  • The Shack by Wm. Paul Young (the book I’m currently reading at the request of my half-sister)
  • Blaze by Richard Bachman (Stephen King’s pseudonym)
  • Playing for Pizza by John Grisham
  • City of Bones: The Mortal Instruments by Cassandra Clare
  • Nineteen Minutes by Jodi Picoult
  • The Wolf of Wall Street by Jordan Belfort
  • The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson
  • 13 Reasons Why by Jay Asher
  • Eclipse by Stephenie Meyer (I vehemently want to make something clear: I am only mentioning this book because it was popular in 2007, not because I support the Twilight series because I DON’T)

Movies

  • Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (I saw this three times in the theater and it has become one of my top five favorite movies of all time because it’s one of the only movies that completely met and satisfied my expectations)
  • Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (my least favorite of the Potter films)
  • Transformers
  • Hairspray (remake) (which I loved)
  • Halloween (remake) (which I hated—way too gratuitous and made almost all the characters unlikable)
  • The Simpsons Movie
  • Spider-Man 3 (which I, as the Queen of Unpopular Opinions, liked)
  • I Am Legend
  • Saw IV
  • Freedom Writers (I think we all watched this in English class, lol)
  • Juno
  • American Gangster
  • Black Snake Moan
  • 300
  • Knocked Up
  • I Now Pronounce You Chuck & Larry
  • 28 Weeks Later
  • 1408 (I looove this movie)
  • The Mist (I also looove this movie)
  • Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street
  • Live Free or Die Hard
  • Ratatouille
  • P.S. I Love You
  • Rush Hour 3 (I own the other two but not this one if that tells you anything…)
  • Enchanted (Amy Adams is amazing…someone tell me why she hasn’t been awarded an Oscar yet)
  • The Darjeeling Limited
  • Gone Baby Gone
  • 30 Days of Night (not bad, not bad)
  • There Will Be Blood
  • No Country for Old Men

TV Shows

  • Chuck
  • Chelsea Lately
  • The Sarah Silverman Program
  • Gossip Girl
  • The Big Bang Theory
  • iCarly
  • Yo Gabba Gabba!
  • Wizards of Waverly Place
  • Kitchen Nightmares
  • Rock of Love (with Bret Michaels)
  • Road Rules
  • Are You Smarter than a Fifth Grader?
  • Californication
  • Burn Notice
  • Mad Men

I watch(ed) almost none of these…except the ocassional Kitchen Nightmares or AYSTAFG episode and the sequel series to Rock of Love. Why? I have no idea. Don’t judge me! 😀

Video Games

  • BioShock
  • Portal
  • Assassin’s Creed
  • Halo 3
  • Mass Effect
  • Call of Duty 4: Modern Warfare
  • Resident Evil 4
  • Uncharted: Drake’s Fortune
  • God of War II
  • Guitar Hero III: Legends of Rock
  • Lego Star Wars: The Complete Saga
  • Silent Hill: Origins

I was still gaming on my Gameboy Advance SP (SpongeBob, Star Wars, Fantastic Four, Harry Potter, Fairly OddParents, etc.), so I didn’t play any of these.

Fads/Other Popular Things

  • Crocs
  • Velour tracksuits
  • The iPhone
  • American Idol
  • High School Musical 2
  • Hannah Montana
  • Bratz Dolls
  • Trying to interpret the series finale of The Sopranos
  • Talking about Britney Spears’ public meltdown (I’m not judging her; it’s tough having a mental illness…and that statement is an understatement)
  • Rickrolling

It’s been a while, hasn’t it?

A lot has changed yet some things have not. And I don’t know about you, but I wish I could go back. The year 2007, when I was 15-16, was one of the best years of my life. Sophomore year was better than freshman year. I loved my teachers and the sports I played and the music I lost myself in. I was practicing my writing by penning horror fan fiction. I miss the security of all those things. I miss it like the sky misses the sun when it sets. And I, and anyone else who misses his or her halcyon days, have to accept that the sun set on 2007 ten years ago.

That’s just the way it is. Now all there is to do is focus on making 2017 another great year.

Let’s hope we can and let’s hope it is.

Was 2007 a good year for you? How well do you remember these 2007 hits? Do you remember 2007? If you do, feel free to tell me how in the comments below.

-BP

Leave a Reply

